2022 Champions for Better Health Awards

The 2022 Champions for Better Health Awards were held on October 27 in downtown Carlisle. Over 70 community members, volunteers, business leaders, and philanthropists came together to celebrate seven honorees whose work plays a vital role in advancing the health and wellness of our region.

Congratulations to the following awardees. We thank you for your incredible work to advance the health of our community:

  • Professional of the Year
    Sonja Payne – Coordinator, Shippensburg Community Resource Coalition
    Jeanna Som – Executive Director, Summer Program for Youth (honorable mention)
  • Nonprofit of the Year
    Tomorrow’s Neighbors – Kurt Danysh, Founder & Executive Director
  • Philanthropist of the Year
    Jewel Cooper – Director of Business Development, LeTort Trust/Boyer & Ritter, LLC
    Greg Gunn – President/CEO, Gunn-Mowery LLC
  • Heather Swartz Volunteer of the Year
    Joan Jones – Founder, Maranatha Carlisle
    Patience Groomes – Program Director, Reins of Rhythm (honorable mention)

Our Volunteer of the Year Award is named in honor and memory of Heather Swartz, former Communications Director at the Partnership. Heather will forever be remembered as a kind human being whose life and legacy was truly dedicated to the service of others.

Learn more about the Champions for Better Health or enjoy the slideshow, below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

See more photos and coverage of the event from The Sentinel: